Chicken pot with peas

dsc_1725-22wsAs the Autumn starts getting greyer, instead of beautifully colourful, many of my friends complain about the chill weather, shorter days and the fact that winter is coming.

Can’t blame them. I was complaining a lot myself about how hot it was in Summer. But I on the other hand, as a winter person, just love it! Hats, jackets and woolly socks, and even my old warm sweater that makes my hair static for a day. Now it is only just a little bit weird humming christmas carols on a lunch break or bringing christmas cookies to work. Yes, that’s how crazy I am.

But that greyness gets sometimes to me too, and no amount of coffee can change that, except that I’m swiveling on my chair through the office a little bit faster.

And just one of those days, when I was looking forward to coming home and changing into my onesie, I thought I need some colour on my plate. Something easy, quick and uncomplicated. And here it is. Maybe unspectacular, but perfect!

hahnchen-mit-erbsen2-2wsServes 2

Preparation time: 10min                  Cook time: 10min

You’ll need:

200gr (1cup) couscous (or leftover rice)

400ml (1 ½ cup) of water

400gr (2-3 pieces) chicken breasts

2-3 carrots

1 kohlrabi

200gr frozen peas (a little more than a cup)

200ml vegetable broth (0,8 cup)

whipped cream

pinch of nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

fresh parsley to garnish

Wash the kohlrabi and carrots, peel and cut them in thin stripes. Wash the chicken breasts and cut in stripes.

Boil about 400ml of water, then add the couscous. Leave covered for 15min.

In the meantime, heat the oil in a large pan and add the chicken. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Fry until golden brown, then take it out and put aside. Add the vegetables to the pan and let it cook for few minutes until softned.

Add the chicken back in and pour the vegetable broth. Add a splash of cream and cook together for additional 5min.

Fluff the couscous gently with a fork and put on the plates. Add the vegetables and the chicken on top. Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

Tipp: if you think the sauce is a little bit too liquid, take about 3 Tbsp of sauce and mix with a little bit of flour and cream and pour into the pan while stirring. That should do the trick.

dsc_1716-22wsdsc_1721-22wshahnchen-mit-erbsen6-2ws

4 Comments on “Chicken pot with peas

Leave a Reply

