Feta and spinach filled chicken

DSC_6373I had spinach on my mind for a while now, but there was always something. Too busy, already had plans for the evening or just bought something else already. I don’t like throwing food away, so I planned my menues for the next few days, so I wouldn’t kick myself later.

Normally I would serve spinach with pasta or with fried eggs, but this time I thought I’ll try something else. And here it is. Something very easy and perfect for a quick diner after a long day. Kind of nothing spectacular, and still a very tasty dish worth sharing.

DSC_6359To serve 4 you need:

4 chicken breasts

150g feta cheese

100g spinach (I used frozen)

3 Tbsp oil

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp honey

2 garlic cloves

250ml stock

salt and pepper to taste

fresh parsley and oregano

cherry tomatoes

Preheat the oven to 180º. Wash and clean the chicken, cut it lenghtwise and then in halves.

Crumble the feta cheese in a bowl, add lemon joice and 1tbsp of oil and mix. Add spinach and mix well. Place the bottom parts of the chicken on a baking tray and put a spoonful of spinach and feta mix on top and cover with the remaining chicken. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Put 2 tbsp of oil and honey in a pan and heat lightly. Then pour the mixture with a spoon over the chicken.

Place cherry tomatoes, along with peeled and sliced garlic,between the chicken, and pour the stock. Bake in the oven for 30min.

I served it with potatoe wedges, but you can also serve it with salad.

DSC_6367

Leave a Reply

